Research Committee

Research Cmte Zoom meeting.jpg

Mission: The NACADA Research Committee promotes conditions that advance the body of knowledge within the field of academic advising.

In order to accomplish this, the Research Committee:

  1. communicates the value of scholarly inquiry, promotes its use in enhancing advising practice, and supports efforts to conduct new research;
  2. encourages scholarly inquiry that addresses contemporary and emerging issues in academic advising and higher education from a wide variety of perspectives and methodologies;
  3. promotes conditions that empower advisors as contributors of knowledge.

The Research Committee:

  1. monitors the status of research being conducted and published in the field.
  2. communicates the value of research and promotes it within the Association to those actively pursuing or beginning active pursuit of research related to academic advising.
  3. provides technical support and guidance to those conducting research or desiring to conduct research related to academic advising.
  4. solicits and reviews applications for NACADA Research Grants and makes recommendations on awarding those grants (Policy Number AD-10).

Membership: The Research Committee is composed of current NACADA members who are skilled in a variety of research methodologies and approaches.  Each member brings a nuanced understanding of the field of academic advising in order to promote the conditions necessary to advance the body of knowledge within the field.  Commmittee members serve a two-year term and meet yearly at the NACADA annual conference.

How to become involved in the Research Committee: Those interested in learning more about the work of the Research Committee or in becoming a member may wish to attend the committee's yearly on-site meeting at the Annual Conference. The Committee Chair is also always willing to discuss the group's work with interested NACADA members. Prospective committee members may be offered an opportunity to assist with the work of one of the current subcommittees in order to experience the type of contribution and commitment that would be expected of them as a member.  Those interested in assisting with work of the Research Committee or in becoming a member should review the "Research Committee Member Roles & Responsibilities" document on the right-hand column of this page, and then contact the committee's Executive Office Liaison: Leigh Cunningham 

Current Committee Chair

Sarah Champlin-Scharff


Sarah Champlin-Scharff,
Harvard University


Committee Members

Sarah Champlin-Scharff, Chair (2016-2018), Harvard University (2010-2020), Region 1
Drew Puroway, Incoming Chair (2018-2020), University of St Thomas (2014-2020), Region 6
Susan Campbell, Northeastern University (2013-2019), Region 1
Janet Schulenberg, Penn State University (2006-2018), Region 2
Hilleary Himes, Penn State University (2017-2019), Region 2
Quentin Alexander, Longwood University (2017-2019), Region 2
Twaina Harris, Claflin University (2017-2019), Region 3
Craig McGill, Florida International University (2016-2020), Region 4
Shannon Burton, Michigan State University (2011-2019), Region 5
Shantalea Johns, Wayne State University (2018-2020), Region 5
Rhonda Dean-Kyncl, University of Oklahoma (2017-2019), Region 7
Kristan Venegas, University of Southern California (2015-2020), Region 9
Kiana Shiroma, University of Hawai'i at Manoa (2016-2020), Region 9
Keith Proctor, Brigham Young University (2018-2020), Region 10
David Grey, York St John University (2016-2020), International
Leigh Cunningham, NACADA Executive Office Liaison
Wendy Troxel, Director, NACADA Research Center (ad hoc)

Research-Related Information

Research-related Resources (General)
NACADA Center for Research at Kansas State University
NACADA Research Grant
Research Committee Reviewed & Approved Surveys

Research Related Questions: The Research Committee seeks to help NACADA members complete their advising research. Address research related questions to the Committee's Research Registry listserv

Common Reading 2016