Theory, Philosophy, & History of Advising Community

Our focus is the self-reflexive work of examining the theoretical, philosophical and historical foundations of academic advising, in addition to supporting theory building initiatives and their applications. We welcome the study of academic advising from any theoretical vantage point and look to incorporate theory in new ways. We seek to promote the study and understanding of theory, philosophy, and the historical foundations related to academic advising, and to support and encourage conference presentations, publications, and research in these areas. We seek to develop and advance philosophical and historical reflection in the field of academic advising both within NACADA and outside associations, administration, faculty and other stakeholders.

Upcoming April 2018 Brown Bag Discussion

Medieval Foundations of a 21st Century Profession: The Value of Historical Narratives to Academic Advising

Presented by: Wojciech Bełtkiewicz, PhD, Indiana University - Bloomington

Lawyers have Cicero. Physicians have Hippocrates. Nurses have Florence Nightingale.  Who are the great professional forefathers (or foremothers) of academic advisors? In my presentation I demonstrate that the first academic advisors were not the product of 20th century American higher education, but originated some seven centuries ago in the first universities of medieval Europe. The medieval paedagogus (Latin term for caretaker, advocate or guide) offered support, advice and guidance to students who were new arrivals to a medieval European university town. This ancestor of the modern academic advisor was an important piece of a growing and increasingly specialized medieval university hierarchy. For hundreds of years, academic advising has undergone numerous changes to meet the needs of students. By uncovering the first practitioners of our occupation, I intend to provide a more complete story of our craft as well inspire a greater appreciation for its continued necessity.

Join us online at 3pm EST/2pm CST/1pm MST/Noon PST on April 3, 2018 at: https://ksu.zoom.us/j/970386423

January 2018 Brown Bag

The community hosted a Brown Bag via Zoom on 1/25/18 called The Problem of Dualism in Academic Advising - A Deweyan Critique by Kurt Xyst, Lead Academic Advisor in Undergraduate Academic Affairs Advising at the University of Washington. 

View the recording
View the slides


Ethics & Advising Brown Bag Session:


(Chat Transcript)

Be sure to check out our other sessions on our Resources Page

Current Chair

sean bridgen

Sean Bridgen
Penn State University- New Kensington

News & Updates

Welcome Sean as the new Chair!