NACADA ELP Class 2013-2015

2013-15 ELP Class.jpg

New Emerging Leaders and Mentors met on Oct 6, 2013 at the Annual Conference in Salt Lake City to create partnerships and begin development, conversation, and group-building. Partners will develop goals pertaining to leadership in NACADA and continue their work together over the two-year program.

 Mentors

 Partnerships

 Leaders

Kathy Stockwell.jpg

Kathy Stockwell
retired, Fox Valley Technical College
kathy_stockwell@att.net

Amanda Hodges.jpg Amanda Hodges
College of The Albemarle
amanda_hodges@albemarle.edu

Amanda's goals for her first ELP year are:

  • Increase participation in the Two-Year Colleges Commission
  • develop initiative to increase association membership from 2-year institutions
  • present a collaborative CIG-sponsored webinar or other presentation
  • Introduce NACADA to high school counselors and encourage their participation
  • submit an article to AAT or the Journal
  • develop a buddy system / network to pair new members with veteran members
Jennifer Hodges.jpg

Jennifer Hodges 
New Mexico State University
(formerly University of North Texas)
jphodges@ad.nmsu.edu 

Ashley and Jen.jpg Ashley Racine.jpgAshley Racine
Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing
ashley_racine2@bshsi.org

Ashley's goals for her first ELP year are:

  • Participate in the 2015 Region 2 Conference Planning Committee
  • Take an active role in the Students with Disabilities Commission
  • Collaborate with other health professions institutions to share best practices
  • Help faculty at my institution become more involved with NACADA
Vince Kloskowski,jpg

Vince Kloskowski
Saint Joseph’s College of Maine
vkloskow@sjcme.edu

Autumn and Vince.jpg Autumn Parker.jpgAutumn Parker
University of Arkansas
aparker@walton.uark.edu

Autumn's goals for her first ELP year are:

  • Submit conference proposals for Region 7 and 2014 Annual Conference
  • Join the High School to College Interest Group
  • Participate on the conference committee for regional and/or annual conference
  • Begin work on a publication related to the links between recruitment and advising
Patti Griffin.jpg

Patricia Griffin
Fort Hays State University
pgriffin@fhsu.edu

Brian and Patti.jpg Brian Koslowski.jpgBrian Koslowski
Brandeis University
bkoslow@brandeis.edu

Brian's goals for his first ELP year are:

  • As Massachusetts state liaison, create a spring 2014 drive-in
  • Increase involvement, run for chair of Advising High Achieving Students Commission
  • Submit conference proposals for 2014 Annual Conference
  • Participate in 2015 Region 1 conference planning committee
  • Learn about assessment in academic advising and conduct a research project with internationals student population at my institution
Patty Pedersen.jpg

Patty Pedersen
Carbon County Higher Education Center
ppedersen@cchec.org

Brooke and Patty.jpg Brooke Whiting.jpgBrooke Whiting
Washington State University 
bwhiting@wsu.edu

Brooke's goals for her first ELP year are:

  • Region 8 conference chair (or co-chair)
  • Research a topic and become an expert on that issue (TBD)
  • Present at a national conference
Jennifer Joslin.jpg

Jennifer Joslin
Kansas State University
jejoslin@ksu.edu


Craig and Jennifer.jpg Craig McGill.jpgCraig McGill
Florida International University
cmmcgill@fiu.edu

Craig's goals for his first ELP year are: 

  • LGBTQ-related research on ally development and engagement
  • present on writing and research
  •  explore dissertation topic on academic advisors / professionalization of the field / social justice issues
Les Riding-In.jpg

Les Riding-In
University of Texas-Arlington
ridingin@uta.edu

Dina and Les.jpg Dina Bartoloni.jpgDina Bartoloni
Chapman University
bartolon@chapman.edu

Dina's goals for her first ELP year are: 

  • Increase Region 9 involvement
  • submit a proposal for Region 9 conference presentation
  • investigate potential contribution to the Clearinghouse
Anita Carter.jpg

Anita Carter
Wayne State University
acarter@wayne.edu

Henrietta and Anita.jpg Henrietta Genfi.jpgHenrietta Genfi
Bentley University
hgenfi@bentley.edu

Henrietta's goals for her first ELP year are:

  • Actively engage in the Diversity Committee; contribute to subcommittee work
  • Research and become more engaged in a NACADA International initiative

Heather Doyle.jpg

Heather Doyle
Dalhousie University
heather.doyle@dal.ca

Michelle and Heather.jpg Michelle Ware.jpgMichelle Ware
University of Notre Dame 
Michelle.Ware@nd.edu

Michelle's goals for her first ELP year are:

  • Join and/or actively participate in the Diversity Committee, NCAA Advisory Board, Advising Student Athletes Commission, Advising First Year Students Interest Group 
  • Present at annual, regional, or state conference
  • Learn more about Appreciative Advising
Barbara Mohrle.jpg

Barbara Mohrle
Southern Methodist University
bmohrle@cox.smu.edu

Rachel and Barbara.jpg Rachel Kirk.jpgRachel Kirk
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
rachel.kirk@tamucc.edu

Rachel's goals for her first ELP year are: 

  • Determine what might be an appropriate venue for gathering and sharing basic information for first time advisors and work with the appropriate personnel towards developing a plan to accomplish that