Journal Editorial Board

Email questions regarding the NACADA Journal to


Senior Editor: Tom Grites, Richard Stockton University

Copy Editor:  Nancy Vesta

Managing Editor, NACADA Executive Office liaison: Marsha Miller

Manuscript Reviewers:

  • Aaron Carlstrom, University of Wisconsin-Parkside (2016-2019)
  • Sarah Champlin-Scharff, Harvard University (2018-2021)
  • Ruth Darling, University of Tennessee (2017-2020)
  • Alec Down, University of Utah (2017-2020)
  • Trevor Francis, University of Arkansas (2017-2020)
  • Peter Hagen, Stockton University (2015-2018)  
  • Melissa Johnson, University of Florida (2017-2020)
  • Rhonda Dean Kyncl, University of Oklahoma (2018-2021)
  • Craig McGill, Florida International University (2016-2019)
  • Emily McIntosh, University of Bolton (UK) (2017-2020)
  • Donna Menke, University of Memphis (2015-2018)
  • Karen Mottarella, University of Central Florida (2015-2018)
  • Amy Ribera, Indiana University (2015-2018)
  • Rich Robbins, Bucknell University (2016-2019)
  • Lisa Rubin, Kansas State University (2017-2020)
  • Matthew Rust, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (2016-2019)
  • Leslie A. Scott, Washington, DC (2017-2020)
  • Kiana Shiroma, University of Hawaii (2018-2021)
  • Mary Lee Vance, University of California, Berkeley (2016-2019)

Become a manuscript reviewer

In Memoriam

Dr. Leigh Shaffer (March 8, 1947-August 5, 2017)

Leigh Shaffer headshot

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of Dr. Leigh Shaffer after a brave battle with cancer. As a prolific scholar, caring mentor, longtime member of the NACADA Journal Editorial Board, and as co-editor from 2009-2016, Leigh significantly influenced the breadth and complexity of scholarship in academic advising. He will be deeply missed. Find a tribute to Leigh Shaffer and his work in NACADA Journal issue 37(2)