Annual Conference Advisory Board

The purpose of the Advisory Board is to oversee the curriculum and activities of the Annual Conference in order to advance the academic advising field globally – includes keynote session, concurrent presentations, pre-conference workshops, poster sessions, and other program formats to assure a successful event.

Advisory board members serve a two-year term and meet yearly at the NACADA annual conference. Members are asked to participate in a listserv and to join subcommittees when projects arise. While keeping a diverse group in mind, the advisory board members are chosen with the intent of showing representation across all regions and globally. Current membership is a necessity. Experience as a presenter, years of attendance at the annual conference, service/leadership at the region level, and/or service on a conference planning committee are highly favored when considering an appointment. If interested in joining the advisory board, please contact Farrah Turner at

Current Chair

Bruce Norris, Chair, West Chester University of Pennsylvania (2016-2018)

The Chair of the Advisory Board facilitates the work of the group by:

  • Working with the Executive Office staff on issues that need attention or discussion.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board discussion on issues via email and/or conference calls.
  • Facilitating Advisory Board meetings during the Annual Conference.
  • Working with the Executive Office and the President on appointment of new members each year.
  • Providing written reports to the Board of Directors at least twice annually.


Casey Self, 2018 Annual Conference Chair, Arizona State University (2017-2019)

Aaron Brown, Central Washington University (2017-2019)

Nicole Gaillard, Auburn University (2016-2018) *Incoming Chair (2018-2020)

Andrea Harris, Pepperdine University (2017-2019)

Trevor Hodge, Birmingham City University (2016-2018)

Joshua Johnson, University of Central Florida (2016-2018)

Christopher Kirchhof, University of Pittsburgh (2017-2019)

Alex Kunkle, Nevada State College, (2017-2019)

Megumi Makino-Kanehiro, University of Hawaii-Manoa (2017-2019)

Maureen Schafer, University of Iowa (2017-2019)

Barbara Smith, University of Texas - San Antonio  (2016-2018)

Kevin Thomas, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (2015-2018)

Amy Sannes, Ex Officio, Arizona State University (2017-2018)

Pamela Stephens, Fairmont State University *Incoming (2018-2020)

Brandan Lowden, Pikes Peak Community College *Incoming (2018-2020)

Amanda Idema, Michigan State University *Incoming (2018-2020)

Farrah Turner, Executive Office Liaison