Canadian Advising Community

Canadian AC's poster at the ACD Fair in Phoenix, 2018

This community provides a forum for Canadian professionals who work in an advising capacity, to network with their colleagues across the country and the world.  It was created to ensure that Canadians have a voice within NACADA, and to share interests and ideas that may be uniquely Canadian. One of our goals is to increase communication among Canadian members and to liaise more frequently with each other, in the sharing of best practices and ideas. Despite the fact that post-secondary educational systems vary from province to province, Canadian advising professionals share many common experiences. We welcome input from all Canadian advisors who are working in a variety of contexts and invite you to meet other Canadians and share your advising interests at our annual meeting at the national conference, on our listserv, in presentations, publications and other NACADA venues.

Upcoming Events

The Canadian Advising Community invites you to join the discussion on Thursday, December 6 at 11:00 PST, 12:00 MST, 1:00 CST, 2:00 EST, 3:00 AST.

Dalhousie University's On Track program won a NACADA 2018 Global Award Certificate of Merit as an Outstanding Advising Program. Join Heather Doyle from Dalhousie in the web discussion as she talks about the On Track program which is designed as a transition program to help students adjust to the expectations of university and guide them through their challenges along the way.  This is a timely topic for discussion as it helps to define the link between academic advising, student success and ultimately retention. This event will be recorded for later viewing and will be available here several days after the event occurs.

Zoom link to join at the specified date/time: https://ksu.zoom.us/j/835273000

Online Events

December 2018 - Dalhousie University's On Track program

Speaker - Heather Doyle

December 2017 - Advisor Training at Several Institutions in Canada

Panelists: Heather Doyle of Dalhousie University, Paul Sileika of Ryerson University, Melissa Gallo of Mohawk College and Susan Corner of University of Victoria with Moderator: Rhonda Christian of Durham College

April 2018 Event - Implementing Competencies and Assessment Rubrics

Panelists: Heather Doyle of Dalhousie University, Neil Cole, University of New Brunswick, Lara Ubaldi of York University, Brigitte Wiebe of University of Manitoba, Paul Sileika of Ryerson University with Moderator: Rhonda Christian of Durham College

Resource Spotlight

Advising Case Loads in Canada

Articles posted in an October 2017 thread on the listserv:

Presentation(s):

Current Chair

Shea Ellingham
Mount Royal University

Neil Cole
University of New Brunswick

News & Updates

Join us on Facebook!