Book Reviews


2016 Book Reviews

Rentz’s Student Affairs Practice in Higher Education (Fifth Edition). Naijijian Zhang and Associates $69.95, 970-0-398-09119-4, 2016, 640pp. Har...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Matt Kubacki  St. Joseph’s College mkubacki@sjcny.edu. Liza Jessie Peterson’s memoir All Day: A Year of Love and ...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Lexi Schaar University of Idaho College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences aschaar@uidaho.edu The Red Bandana is a story about ...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Danielle Mitchell-Damron Emory University danielle.mitchell@nyu.edu Don’t Tell Me You’re Afraid tells the story of a y...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Lauren Humphrey Online Student Advising and Support University of Bridgeport LHumphrey@bridgeport.edu In the nonfiction novel, ...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Kate Bernas Wayne State University ab9599@wayne.edu The academic advisor with an appreciation for literature, an interest in Ameri...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Regan Baker Missouri State University baker57@live.missouri.state.edu If asked, most staff and faculty at institutions of higher e...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Kristin Lang University of Iowa Kristin-Lang@uiowa.edu Garrard Conley’s 2016 memoir, Boy Erased, centers on his experiences ...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Amanda Golden University of Texas at Austin Amanda.Golden@austin.utexas.edu Many colleges and universities have implemented common...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Jamie Andrus Sheppard Boise State University JamieSheppard@boisestate.edu In Order to Live, A North Korean Girl’s Journey to...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Becky Sanchez Portland State University beckys@pdx.edu  The Power of Half is the true story of a family who (motivated by the...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Kim Wright Utah Valley University wrightki@uvu.edu Imagine Me Gone is not a light read nor is it a very optimistic or uplifting st...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Nancy Crone Eastern Illinois University njcrone@eiu.edu This book offered a wonderful opportunity to learn about leadership develo...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Reviewed by Stacia Wesolowski Johnson & Wales University, Providence Campus swesolowski@jwu.edu Students, Soldiers, Slaves. This is how a...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Reviewd by Christina Moussa Florida International University Cmous002@fiu.edu Unable to cope with the loss of patronage from her mother, youn...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Jennifer Kay Leach Oregon State University jennifer.leach@oregonstate.edu  Finding the Why seeks to address a concern that many i...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Shari Coffey University of Cincinnati shari.coffey@uc.edu. Adjustment to civilian life is a widely recognized challenge for milita...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Ali Joy Luempert Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX ali.j.luempert@ttu.edu For academic advising administrators, the current ...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Michele Applegate Enrollment Management and Student Services Rowan College at Burlington County Mount Laurel, NJ mapplegate@rcb...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Reviewed By: Allison Rankin Watson College of Education rankina@uncw.edu Academic advising is often thought of in the context of coaching, me...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Book Review by: LaDonna R. Moore University of Houston LRMoore3@uh.edu In the era of increasing demand and expanding enrollment, institutions...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Reviewed by LaDonna R. Moore University of Houston LRMoore3@uh.edu In the era of increasing demand and expanding enrollment, institutions are...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Reviewed By: Lynneah C. Brown Reviewers Email: lbrown@fiu.edu Florida International University, Department of Biomedical Engineering   A...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Reviewer by: Martha Scott Johnson University of Minnesota-Twin Cities MSJ@umn.edu Academic and Career advising are inextricably related; a studen...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Janessa Boley Iowa State University boleyj@iastate.edu Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist is a compilation of essays where she exp...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Kyle W. Ross Eastern Washington University kross22@ewu.edu Common readings are an excellent opportunity for students to engage in a dialogue ...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Kristin Dringoli Counseling and Advising Center Berklee College of Music What do a chimp, a college student, and the burnt out rem...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Matthew Hoekstra University of Minnesota, Morris hoekstra@morris.umn.edu   Dennis Covington, a National Book Award fina...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by: Rossie Johnson Virginia State University rdjohnson@vsu.edu “The Battle for Room 314” portrays Ed Boland as one who was...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by:  Shahid Bux American University of Sharjah sbux@aus.edu Inspiring students to become creative in their studies and to pers...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by:  Timarie Franco University of South Florida tfranco1@usf.edu From the first page of Watkins’ memoir, The Cook Up, th...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by:  Alyssa Mittleider Iowa State University amittlei@iastate.edu           There are many by-gone co...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by:  Kim MacQueen Champlain College kmacqueen@champlain.edu All through higher education’s history, young adults have left t...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by:  Anna Vest University of South Florida nalitova@usf.edu More students from minority and lower socioeconomic groups are joi...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by:  Philisa Stanford University of Texas at Arlington Philisa@uta.edu   Psychologists have long debated the nature vs...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Reviewed by Brett L. Stine, University Advising, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX Brett.L.Stine@ttu.edu Sarah L. Louis, University Advising...

[Read the rest of this article...]

Review by Lindsey Byrd University of West Florida lbyrd1@uwf.edu Technology has been a part of the Millennial Generation; the generation that...

[Read the rest of this article...]

A Deadly Wandering, Review by Lynsey Byrd, University of West Florida Angst and Hope: Current Issues in Student Affairs Leadership, Review...

[Read the rest of this article...]