Global Awards

Our awards are designed to honor individuals and institutions making significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising within higher education.  The program goals are to:
  • Recognize outstanding advising throughout higher education
  • Offer a global advising rewards system 
  • Encourage wider support of advising personnel and programs
  • Ultimately improve advising services for students

Submit a Nomination

Upcoming Deadlines

Award or Scholarship
Due Date

Outstanding Advising Awards
Outstanding Program
Advising Technology Innovation
Excellence in Scholarly Inquiry

Michael C. Holen Pacesetter
Virginia N.Gordon
Leading Light
Bobbie Flaherty Service to NACADA
NACADA Scholarship
Student Research Award

3/14/18 Midnight CST


Summer Institute Scholarships
International Conference Scholarships

April 15, 2018 Midnight CST

Shaffer Award

May 1, 2018 Midnight CST 

New Advisors Annual Conference Scholarship*
Annual Conference Grad Student Scholarship*

 *Note: these scholarship applications open on April 15, 2018

June 17, 2018 Midnight CST

How do I find an award or scholarship?
  1. Click on the individual award links in the left column to read the criteria
  2. View Scholarships where you will find descriptions and criteria
What are the deadlines to apply?
  1. Upcoming deadlines for both scholarships and awards are listed here or

The deadline for nomination submissions for most award categories is early March, annually.  Retiree recognition forms are due in early June. Scholarship application due dates vary depending on the event (Winter Institute/Summer Institute/National Conference, etc.).

How do I nominate someone for an award or how can I apply?

Please visit Submission Instructions before starting your nomination.  Information and tips for nominators are included there.

When is the presentation of awards?

All global awards are presented at the annual Conference held each fall.  Recipients are honored with an evening ceremony and presentation of Awards by the Awards Committee Chair.